UCLA Bruin Marching Band
The Louis B. Sudler Trophy




The UCLA Bruin Marching Band was the 1993 recipient of the Louis B. Sudler Trophy. The Louis B. Sudler Trophy is voted on each year by college band directors from across the country and is presented by the John Philip Sousa Foundation in recognition of the band's tradition of excellence and innovation. The John Philip Sousa Foundation has made the following statement regarding the award:

"The purpose of the Sudler Trophy is to identify and recognize collegiate marching bands of particular excellence who have made outstanding contributions to the American way of life. The Sudler Trophy will be awarded annually to a college or university marching band which has demonstrated the highest musical standards and innovative marching routines and ideas, and which has made important contributions to the advancement of the performance standards of college marching bands over a period of years."



Past Recipients
1982 - University of Michigan 1996 - University of Nebraska
1983 - University of Illinois 1997 - West Virginia University
1984 - Ohio State University 1998 - University of Massachusetts
1985 - Florida A&M University 1999 - Texas Tech University
1986 - University of Texas, Austin 2000 - University of Georgia
1987 - University of Oklahoma 2001 - Texas A&M University
1988 - Michigan State University 2002 - Louisiana State University
1989 - Kansas University 2003 - University of Alabama
1990 - University of Iowa 2004 - Auburn University
1991 - Arizona State University 2005 - Penn State University
1992 - Northwestern University 2006 - University of Arkansas
1993 - UCLA 2007 - Indiana University
1994 - James Madison University 2009 - Western Carolina University
1995 - Purdue University